Movie Review: Banana Island Ghost (B.I.G)

 

Hello Lovelies,

Today, I will be reviewing Banana Island Ghost which I watched on the 4th of August in the Cinema.

I have been anticipating this movie coming out so I had to watch it the day it premiered in cinemas. The most incredible thing about this movie is the graphics and how well they could depict the ghost and God scenes. It was so real and believable. This movie makes me proud to be associated with Nigeria because the growth of the Nollywood industry brings me so much joy.

This movie is definitely the best Nigerian visual and special effects movie ever.

B.I.G is a comedy movie about a ghost who is scared to go to heaven because he doesn’t have a soulmate, so he convinces God to give him three days to fall in love. He is then paired with the cantankerous firecracker Ijeoma (Chioma ‘Chigul’ Omeruah), who will do anything to save her father’s house in Banana Island from the bank. Ijeoma has three days to raise 18 million Naira to save her late father’s Banana Island house from the bank reclaiming and selling it to Mr King (Ali Nuhu). The pair must first survive each other, then learn to work together, and eventually fall in love, to see their destinies unfold.

The outstanding cast in B.I.G are: Chioma ‘Chigul’ Omeruah, Patrick Diabuah, Adetomiwa Edun, Saidi Balogun, Ali Nuhu, Uche Jombo, Bimbo Manuel, Akah Nnani, Damilola Adegbite, Kemi Lala Akindoju, Dorcas Sola Fapson, DJ Obi, Biola Alabi, Uche Nwaefuna, Tina Mba and Abimbola Ademoye.

My most outstanding characters are Ijeoma (Chioma ‘Chigul’ Omeruah), Ghost (Patrick Diabuah), Sergeant (Akah Nnani), God (Bimbo Manuel).

My favourite part of the movie was when some people where laughing at Ijeoma’s car and she wanted to fight. The ghost whispered in her eye that he had a better idea. Since no one else could see him except HER. He decided to enter the car and she acted like the car could obey voice commands. So he played a song, answered Ijeoma’s commands and opened the door for her. Everyone was amazed. The ghost was her guardian angel.

Kudos to B.I.G writer, BB Sasore. The story-line was sweet, relatable and relevant.

The cast of this movie brought their A game. I loved that the actors were from different genres (Yoruba actors, Hausa actors and English-speaking actors).

Ijeoma (Chigul) performance was excellent. I was really pitying her. I fell in love with the Ghost’s (Patrick) character. I love all the mischief he got up to. All I wanted to do was slap the Sergeant (Akah Nnani). He was so annoying and funny.

It was an afternoon well spent. I laughed and cried during the movie. Kudos to the entire B.I.G team.

Have you watched Banana Island Ghost? Comment below and share your experience.

Uke’s Reveal Today :  Banana Island Ghost

Rating: *****

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Banana Island Ghost (B.I.G)

Leave a Reply

